Welcome to The JET Experience

Greetings, wearied internet traveller. Your journey through the interwebs have brought you to my humble blog. I, Apollo (fun tip: not my real name), hope to offer you a glimpse into the life of a participant in the world renowned culural exchange program, The JET Programme.

I’ve been meaning to start up a blog to chronicle my experiences on JET ever since I found out I was accepted to the programme back in April. Unfortunately I procrastinated on this for awhile not (just) due to laziness, but also because I’ve been thinking a lot about what direction to take, what I’ll talk about, privacy issues, and even just what to name the darned thing (that was actually the hardest part by far).

To that end, I still haven’t decided if this will be primarily a diary of my everyday life in Japan, or a collection of thoughts, musings and observations of Japanese culture or a how-to-guide to becoming the best JET ever. With 3 weeks left before departure, I figured I’d just start it up and see where it goes, although it will probably end up being something in between.

Anyways this first post is just intended to introduce the blog so I’ll end it here. Enjoy the rest of the site as I come up with more things to write about and please, leave a comment and let me know you were here.

One thought on “Welcome to The JET Experience

  1. Actually, I am happy I started a blog during departure time as well because even now I go back to my post on opening my Welcome Package or better yet my Acceptance Letter and its like OMG! Right! I remember that intense moment.

Leave a Reply

