Two Weeks to Tokyo

So I’m up at quarter to five in the morning and I can’t sleep because it’s begun to dawn on me that in 2 weeks, I’ll be hoping on a plane, travelling halfway around the world and heading to Japan. 2 weeks! That’s just a scant 14 days, and in that small amount of time, I have to wrap up my life here in Canada, see all my friends one last time, and bid my family a tearful farewell at the airport.

Fortunately, I’ve managed to accomplished most of the major things I needed to get out of the way such as visa applications, getting my international drivers permit, putting my OHIP card on hold, and buying Canada branded giveaways at the dollar store, but there’s still a ton of little stuff that needs to get done. I also have that nagging feeling that I’m forgetting something. Anyways here’s my checklist:

  • buy omiyage (gifts) for my supervisors
  • apply for Aeroplan card
  • get immunized for all the things that can kill me in Asia
  • visit the dentist
  • call my bank and tell them I’m going to Japan
  • get my suits and dress pants tailored
  • buy a DSLR camera (Canon EOS Rebel T2i, I am coming for you)
  • see as many friends as possible and have more farewell parties
  • do a test pack of all my luggage..and actually pack
  • shoot more videos of my city, my house, my family, and my life here

And that’s just the stuff I remember off the top of my head, so it’s not quite smooth sailing yet. It’s still surreal to think that exactly one year ago, my life was headed in a completely different direction, and now here I am, about to venture off into a completely foreign land with a fascinating and exotic way of life; an adventure in the making with countless stories just waiting to be told. I’m going to make the most of it. This will be the best year ever.

4 thoughts on “Two Weeks to Tokyo

  1. lol @ test packing your luggage

    its gonna be a big change and an exciting new chapter for you, but don’t forget your life here isn’t gonna disappear when you’re gone!

  2. I know the feeling – I have been falling asleep at around 4am every night now and even when I do sleep it is not well. I am pretty nervous and a part of me is so busy and rushed yet sometimes I just sit and stare into space. Weird!

    Tsunami is RIGHT – LUGGAGE packing and changing you dollars into YEN. I have already packed my luggage and weighed it SEVERAL times and have had to rearrange, remove and add things, etc. I also recommend calling Air Canada for the “weird” things. I bought a map of canada that weighs NOTHING but I would have to pay 100$ to bring it because it is outside of my suitcase (anyways, I am going to mail it to myself for a few dollars). Also, I used vacuum storage bags and they saved me loads of space but it took a while to pack them up and suck that air… it just seems fast and quick but really, packing is long and tedious – doing it right takes several tries but worth it if it means no hassle at the airport!

  3. yo allen, i wanna see some mad crazy pics while your there. you forgot 2 major things while you’re in japan. Tokyo Game Show and Anime Expo!! hahaha j/k.

    i hope you have a great time there, I definitely wana go back to Japan again some day 🙂

    take care, I’ve bookmarked your site, so I wana hear the stories!!

    -SAM

Leave a Reply

